Jump to navigation Jump to content

A Celebration of Scotland's Treasures

Thursday, April 16, 2020 | Metropolitan Club, NYC

Please join us for an evening of Scottish music, dining, and dancing! The festive occasion has celebrated Scottish heritage, from poetry and dancing to whisky and haggis, for more than a decade. A highlight of the evening is the presentation of the Great Scot Award, and this year we are delighted to honor award-winning crime novelist Denise Mina, author of Conviction and The Long Drop. New York Times bestselling author Laura Lippman will present Mina with the Great Scot Award. The evening will also feature a special musical performance by Kate Taylor.

Denise Mina

2020 Great Scot Award Honoree

The recipient of the 2020 Great Scot Award is award-winning crime novelist Denise Mina, whose novel Conviction was published to critical acclaim earlier this year.

Mina is known as one of the major figures in the genre of Tartan Noir, which merges the traditions of Scottish literature as practiced by Robert Louis Stevenson and Arthur Conan Doyle with the hard-boiled anti-heroes of American detective fiction.

In addition to Conviction, Mina is the author of the stand-alone true crime reimagining The Long Drop, as well as the Paddy Meehan, Alex Morrow, and Maureen O’Donnell series. She received the John Creasy Memorial Award for best first crime novel for Garnethill and has twice received the Theakston’s Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award.

“We are thrilled to honor one of the leading voices in contemporary crime fiction at such an exciting moment in her career,” said Charlotte Lyeth Burton, chair of The National Trust for Scotland Foundation USA. “Denise Mina’s novels brings the gritty city of Glasgow to life for readers from far beyond Scotland. In many ways, the city itself is a character as much as it is the setting for her work.”

The National Trust for Scotland cares for nearly 100 natural and cultural heritage properties across Scotland, including several important sites in Glasgow that have literary connections to Ms. Mina’s work: Alexander “Greek” Thomson’s Holmwood House and the Tenement House, located in the Garnethill neighborhood.

Tickets will be on sale early spring 2020. 


Honorary Chairs

Mrs. I.W. Colburn

Curt DiCamillo

Michael Scott Morton


Alasdair Nichol and Susi Ritt Nichol

Ellen Poss

Paul Roberts and Stephanie Donaldson

Naoma Tate

Kate Taylor

The National Trust for Scotland Foundation USA is delighted to welcome Kate Taylor for a musical performance the evening of the gala. Kate Taylor lives year round on Martha’s Vineyard, an island off the coast of Massachusetts. She was raised in Chapel Hill, NC. Her brothers Alex, James, Livingston, and Hugh are also songwriters and performers.

She recorded her first album, “Sister Kate,” in 1971 with Peter Asher. Her second album, “Kate Taylor,” was produced by brother James for Columbia Records and was released in 1976. Her third record, “It’s in There and It’s Got to Come Out,” produced by Barry Beckett, was recorded at Muscle Shoals Sound Studios in Muscle Shoals, Alabama and was released in 1978 on Columbia Records.

After starting her family, Kate took time from performing to raise her daughters. She now once again brings her original songs and her favorite covers to her beautiful audiences. Her most recent albums include “Beautiful Road” and “Fair Time!”

Event Photography

Follow the links below to view photos from the 2019 A Celebration of Scotland’s Treasures gala where the Great Scot Award was presented to sculptor Andy Scott, best known for his monumental equine installation The Kelpies.

Annie Watt Photography

Matt Gillis Photography

2019 A Celebration of Scotland’s Treasures Image Gallery

About the Great Scot Award

The Great Scot Award is presented annually to a Scot or American who has contributed to the countries’ shared heritage. The recipient is selected by the Foundation’s Board of Trustees and the award presentation is the highlight of the annual gala, A Celebration of Scotland’s Treasures

Great Scot Award Honorees

  • Honorees 2008-2016


    Phyllis Logan

    Actor, best known for her roles as Mrs. Hughes on Downton Abbey and Lady Jane Felsham on Lovejoy.


     Sir Billy Connolly

    Stand up comedian, actor, musician, TV presenter, and artist


    Richard Scott

    10th Duke of Buccleuch and the 12th Duke of Queensbury


    Ian Gow

    Chief Curator, National Trust for Scotland


    The International Alliance for the Advancement of Scottish Roots Music


    Mrs. Thomas J. Hubbard



    Christopher Forbes

    Vice chairman of Forbes Inc., noted collector and connoisseur


    Alan Cumming

    Award-Winning Actor, Singer, Writer, Producer, Director, and Author


    Alexander McCall Smith

    Internationally Acclaimed Author

Sign up to receive occasional updates from The National Trust for Scotland Foundation USA

Your Cart